2019 年 3 月,参谋长联席会议主席马克-米利在佛罗里达州坦帕市。图片来源:海军一级士官多米尼克-A-皮涅罗(Dominique A. Pineiro.(CC).

米利将军的道德困境:一封从未发出的信

2022 年 8 月 30 日

在特朗普总统臭名昭著地漫步穿过华盛顿特区拉斐特广场公园两年多之后,马克-米利将军公开了他在 2020 年 6 月 1 日失败后不久写下的辞职信

在信中,米利对特朗普进行了抨击:"我认为你正在对我国造成巨大的、无法弥补的伤害......你正在利用军队在美国人民心中制造恐惧--而我们正在努力保护美国人民。我不能袖手旁观,不能参与这种对美国人民的攻击,无论是口头上的还是其他方面的"。

尽管米利起草的文字似乎令人钦佩,但我们必须扪心自问:一封未发出的信的道德标准是什么?

这种信可以是一种美德的象征。许多人生导师都建议发泄的价值,把过热的信件放进抽屉,然后继续手头的工作。对于米利来说,风险极大。他能为一个 "利用军队在美国人民心中制造恐惧 "的领导人服务吗?

特朗普与被他任命担任政府最高职务的将军们的关系往往很快就会恶化,而且恶化的程度非常惊人。苏珊-格拉瑟和彼得-贝克在他们的新书《分裂者》(The Divider)的节选中对这些细节进行了丰富多彩的报道:特朗普在白宫》一书的节选中,对细节进行了丰富多彩的报道。

特朗普喜欢阅兵式,对弗拉基米尔-普京和维克托-欧尔班等独裁领导人直言不讳地表示崇拜,除此之外,他不断使用 "我的将军们 "这个词,从一开始就应该敲响警钟。

文官治军的第一条原则体现在士兵向宪法而非总统宣誓。具有讽刺意味的是,与特朗普关系密切、对这一原则理解最深的高级军官,却屡次未能在公开场合大力捍卫这一原则。

当全国范围内对乔治-弗洛伊德遇害事件的抗议来到白宫外的街道上时,也许是最关键、最戏剧性的考验。特朗普总统要求做出强有力的回应,并希望 "他的 "军队能够做到这一点。

只要看一眼总统与国防部长埃斯佩尔、司法部长巴尔和参谋长联席会议主席米利一起穿过拉斐特广场公园的照片,就会明白其中的含义。米利身着作战服大步流星地走在前面,暗示美国军方正在参与武力驱赶和平抗议者的行动。特朗普在圣约翰教堂前挥舞着一本颠倒的圣经,这无异于法西斯主义的味道。

米利立刻明白了自己的错误,并道歉说:"我不应该出现在那里。我在那个时刻、那个环境中出现,给人一种军队卷入国内政治的感觉。作为一名现役军官,我已经从这个错误中吸取了教训,我真诚地希望我们所有人都能从中吸取教训"。

在党派政治问题上,美国将军有一条特别严格的底线。但米利的处境考验了这一既定的、受人尊敬的公正底线,因为特朗普蓄意企图利用武装部队作为他的私人卫队,公然达到政治目的。

但在与前国防部长罗伯特-盖茨和其他同事协商后,米利决定不辞职,也不寄信。他将继续留任,以抵御来自内部的持续且日益增长的威胁,包括担心特朗普可能会与伊朗开战、毫无预警地从阿富汗撤军,以及在大选前后爆发街头示威游行时援引《叛乱法》。

米利可以说取得了一些成功,因为上述威胁都没有发生。但毫无疑问,米利、埃斯佩尔等人也未能在 2020 年大选和随后的叛乱之前成功遏制特朗普最严重的过激行为。

米利在 2020 年未能公布他的信件并辞职,这与当初助长特朗普的行为模式一脉相承:许多高级官员掌握了破坏性信息、恐惧和疑虑,却选择对美国公众隐瞒,直到 2020 年大选之后甚至更长时间。埃斯珀在这方面尤为恶劣,他一直隐瞒自己的故事,直到他在题材丰富的回忆录《神圣的誓言》(A Sacred Oath)中出售。

前国家安全顾问约翰-博尔顿(John Bolton)也设立了新的低标准,他拒绝在特朗普的第二次弹劾审判中作证,而是在他的回忆录《发生过的房间》(The Room Where ItHappened)中分享了他所知道的有关总统不称职的情况。显然,美国人民只有购买他的书才能进入这个 "房间"。

米利决定搁置他的信--虽然不是出于商业目的--也可以从类似的角度来看待。尽管它雄辩滔滔,但却体现了不采取行动的空洞。这是一个美好的想法,但在人类历史进程中几乎毫无意义。信息是强大的。但却错过了时机。

事后雄辩并不可取。在这种情况下,它证实了直接导致 1 月 6 日事件的失败。

随着 2024 年大选的临近,我们有必要了解促使特朗普崛起并继续控制全国数百万选民的力量。了解米利这封未发出信件的来龙去脉和后果,是解开谜团的关键一环。

米利将军可能要花费更多的时间和精力为他的决定提供背景资料。然而,他将发现一个不可避免的事实,那就是一旦错过了这样的时刻,就无法挽回。

Joel H. Rosenthal 是Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs 的总裁。订阅他的 President's Desk 新闻通讯,您将收到今后撰写的专栏,内容涉及翻译伦理、分析民主以及审视我们这个日益相互联系的世界。

您可能还喜欢

空荡荡的联合国大会厅

2023 年 5 月 22 日 - 文章

袖手旁观:全球在乌克兰问题上的分歧

Carnegie Council 乔尔-罗森塔尔(Joel Rosenthal)主席思考了与俄罗斯入侵乌克兰有关的全球分歧。

2022 年 3 月 15 日 - 播客

否认的战略》:大国冲突时代的美国国防》,与埃尔布里奇-科尔比合著

在这场内容广泛的谈话中,美国国防专家埃尔布里奇-科尔比与Carnegie Council 总裁乔尔-罗森塔尔讨论了美国力量不断变化的性质。作为...

United States Capitol. CREDIT: <a href="https://flickr.com/photos/alchemist_x/49207005032/">John Brighenti</a> <a href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/">(CC)</a>

2021 年 4 月 16 日 - 播客

美国人是否正面临不民主的未来?

美国民主正处于一个危险的拐点。当美国从 1 月 6 日对国会大厦的袭击中走出来时,社会面临着一个关键问题:...

Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Mark Milley in Tampa, FL, March 2019. CREDIT: Navy Petty Officer 1st Class Dominique A. Pineiro. (CC).

General Milley's Ethical Dilemma: The Letter That Was Never Sent

Aug 30, 2022

More than two years after President Trump's infamous stroll across Washington, DC’s Lafayette Square Park, General Mark Milley has gone public with his unsent letter of resignation penned shortly after the June 1, 2020 debacle.

In the letter, Milley addresses Trump in withering fashion: "It is my belief you were doing great and irreparable harm to my country . . . you are using the military to create fear in the minds of the American people—and we are trying to protect the American people. I cannot stand idly by and participate in that attack, verbally or otherwise, on the American people."

Although the words Milley drafted seem admirable, we must ask ourselves: What are the ethics of an unsent letter?

Such letters can be a sign of virtue. Many a life coach has suggested the value of venting, putting an overheated letter in a drawer, and getting on with the task at hand. For Milley, the stakes were exceptionally high. Could he serve a leader "using the military to create fear in the minds of the American people?"

Trump's relationships with the generals he appointed to the highest positions in his administration often soured quickly and in spectacular fashion. The details are reported colorfully by Susan Glasser and Peter Baker in an excerpt from their new book The Divider: Trump in the White House.

Along with Trump’s fondness for military parades and his forthright adulation for authoritarian leaders like Vladimir Putin and Viktor Orbán, his incessant use of the term “my generals” should have set off alarm bells from the very beginning.

The first principle of civilian control of the military is reflected in the fact that soldiers pledge an oath to the Constitution, not to the president. Ironically, the high-level military officers close to Trump who understood this principle most deeply are the ones who failed repeatedly to defend it vigorously in public.

Perhaps the most critical and dramatic test came when the nationwide protests over the killing of George Floyd arrived on the streets just outside the White House. President Trump demanded a forceful response, and he expected “his” military to provide it.

One look at the photo of the president walking through Lafayette Square Park along with his Secretary of Defense Esper, Attorney General Barr, and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Milley speaks volumes. Milley striding along in his combat fatigues, suggested that the U.S. military was taking part in the forceful removal of peaceful protestors. It was nothing less than a whiff of fascism, topped off by Trump’s waving of an upside-down bible in front of St. John’s Church.

Milley understood his error at once and issued an apology saying: "I should not have been there. My presence at that moment and in that environment created a feeling that the military is involved in domestic politics. As a commissioned uniformed officer, it was a mistake I have learned from, and I sincerely hope we can all learn from it."

U.S. generals have a particularly stringent line to walk when it comes to partisan politics. But Milley's situation tested the well-established, revered line of impartiality, as Trump was deliberately attempting to use the armed forces as his personal guard and for blatantly political purposes.

But after consulting with former secretary of defense Robert Gates and other colleagues, Milley decided not to resign, and not to send his letter. He would stay to fend off the continuous and growing threats from within, including fears that Trump might start a war with Iran, withdraw troops without warning from Afghanistan, and invoke the Insurrection Act if street demonstrations broke out around the time of the election.

In his favor, Milley can claim some success in that none of the above threats happened. But there can be no doubt that Milley, Esper, and others also were unsuccessful in curtailing Trump’s worst excesses ahead of the 2020 election and the insurrection that followed.

Milley's failure to release his letter and resign in 2020 is in keeping with a pattern of behavior that enabled Trump in the first place: Many high-ranking officials had damaging information, fears, and misgivings but chose to hide them from the American public until after the election of 2020 and even longer. Esper was especially egregious in this regard, keeping his story concealed until he sold it in his richly titled memoir A Sacred Oath.

Former national security advisor John Bolton also set a new low standard, refusing to testify at Trump's second impeachment trial in favor of sharing what he knows about the president’s unfitness in his memoir The Room Where It Happened. Apparently, the American people can only gain access to the "room" by purchasing his book.

Milley’s decision to table his letter—while not commercially driven—can be seen in a similar light. For all its eloquence, it embodies the emptiness of an action not taken. A nice thought, but nearly meaningless in the course of human events. The information is powerful. But the moment was missed.

After-the-fact eloquence is not admirable. And in this case, it confirms the failures that led directly to the events of January 6.

As we approach the 2024 election, it is essential we understand the forces that enabled Trump's rise and his continuing hold on millions of voters across the country. Understanding the circumstances and consequences of Milley's unsent letter supplies a key piece of the puzzle.

General Milley is likely to spend much more time and effort supplying context for his decision. Yet he will find the inevitable truth that when a moment like this is missed, it is impossible to retrieve.

Joel H. Rosenthal is president of Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs. Subscribe to his President’s Desk newsletter to receive future columns translating ethics, analyzing democracy, and examining our increasingly interconnected world.

You may also like

FEB 28, 2022 Podcast

Russia Invades Ukraine: A Principled Response

Russia's invasion of Ukraine raises several ethical questions: Why did diplomacy fail? What does the invasion mean for the principle of sovereignty? Are sanctions an ...

FEB 9, 2022 Podcast

Where is the Public Square for the Digital Information Age? with Stelios Vassilakis

In this episode of the "Artificial Intelligence & Equality Initiative" podcast, Senior Fellow Anja Kaspersen and Carnegie Council President Joel Rosenthal sit down with the Stavros ...

APR 6, 2021 Article

Are Americans Facing an Undemocratic Future?

Faith in democracy is waning, and the events of the past year have done little to inspire confidence. Today, the presumption of democracy as an ...