Webinar, May 16 2017: Briefing and Discussion on Solar Geoengineering: Science, Ethics, and Governance

May 11, 2017

CCEIAFCEA logo

Title: "A briefing and discussion on solar geoengineering: science, ethics and governance"

Date: 16 May 2017

Time: 12:00 UTC/GMT (8:00 EDT New York, 13:00 BST London, 14:00 CEST Geneva, 17:30 IST New Delhi)

Please click here for full transcript and video and the PowerPoint presentation.

Description:

In response to stakeholder requests, the Forum on Climate Engineering Assessment (FCEA) and the Carnegie Climate Geoengineering Governance Initiative (C2G2) are pleased to jointly convene this webinar which will present an overview of the current state of research and understanding around key issues pertaining to proposed solar geoengineering technologies, in the context of global climate policy. The goal is to enable increased engagement by stakeholders from all interested sectors in the rapidly evolving global conversation about if, and how to conduct research and consider possible deployment of solar geoengineering technologies.

The briefing will be organized as follows:

Introduction (10 minutes)

  • Janos Pasztor, Executive Director, C2G2
  • Simon Nicholson, Co-Executive Director, FCEA

Solar Geoengineering Science (35 minutes presentation + 30 minutes Q&A)

This section of the webinar, convened and facilitated by the FCEA, will include an overview of physical science research & current state of understanding, an outline of socio-economic, ecological and human impacts and risks to be considered, and a discussion of the potential role of proposed solar geoengineering technologies in managing global climate risks.

Presenters:

  • Douglas MacMartin, Research Professor, Computing & Mathematical Sciences, Cornell University
  • Thomas Ackerman, Director, Joint Institute for the Study of the Atmosphere and Ocean, University of Washington
  • Pablo Suarez, Associate Director for Research and Innovation, Red Cross Red Crescent Climate Centre

Governance of Solar Geoengineering (40 minutes presentation + 30 minutes Q&A)

This section of the webinar, convened by C2G2, will include discussion of major ethical and social considerations surrounding solar geoengineering research, experimentation and potential deployment, as well as likely governance challenges and potential pathways, in the international context.

Presenters:

  • Holly Jean Buck, Cornell University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • David Morrow, Faculty Fellow, Forum for Climate Engineering Assessment, American University
  • Arunabha Ghosh, Chief Executive Officer, Council on Energy, Environment and Water
  • Ted Parson, Dan and Rae Emmett Professor of Environmental Law, University of California Los Angeles Law School

Wrap-up (5 minutes)

You may also like

SEP 20, 2022 News

Carnegie Council Opens Registration for a Special Global Ethics Day Event with Michael Schur, Creator of "The Good Place" and Author of "How to Be Perfect: The Correct Answer to Every Moral Question"

Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs today released its programming lineup for the ninth annual Global Ethics Day on October 19, featuring an event with ...

JAN 7, 2021 News

Just Out: "Ethics & International Affairs" Winter 2020 Issue

The editors of Ethics & International Affairs are pleased to present the Winter 2020 issue of the journal! The highlight of this issue is a roundtable organized ...

DEC 9, 2019 News

Just Out: "Ethics & International Affairs" Winter 2019 Issue

The centerpiece of the Winter 2019 issue of "Ethics & International Affairs" is a symposium entitled "Just War and Unjust Soldiers," with a lead article by Scott ...