Jacob T. Levy is Tomlinson Professor of Political Theory in the department of political science at McGill University and a member of the McGill Center for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism.

His areas of research include multiculturalism and nationalism; federalism; the rights of indigenous peoples; constitutional theory and jurisprudence; and 17th–19th century political thought.

He is the author of The Multiculturalism of Fear (Oxford University Press 2000) and he is currently writing a book on the historical and contemporary tension between rationalist and pluralist liberalisms.

His published articles and chapters include: "Federalism, Liberalism, and the Separation of Loyalties," American Political Science Review 2007; "Beyond Publius: Montesquieu, Liberal Republicanism, and the Small-Republic Thesis," History of Political Thought 2006; "Liberal Jacobinism," Ethics, 2004; "National Minorities Without Nationalism," in Dieckhoff, ed., The Politics of Belonging, 2004; "Indigenous Self-government," Nomos, 2003 ;"Literacy, Language Rights, and the Modern State," in Kymlicka and Patten, eds., Language Rights and Political Theory 2003; and "Liberalism's Divide After Socialism—and Before," Social Philosophy and Policy, 2003; and "Three Modes of Incorporating Indigenous Law," in Kymlicka and Norman, eds., Citizenship in Diverse Societies: Theory and Practice, Oxford University Press, 2000. 

He has been a National Science Foundation graduate fellow and a Fulbright Scholar at the University College, University of New South Wales, Australia, and has received fellowships from the Social Philosophy and Policy Center, the Earhart Foundation, and the Mellon Foundation New Directions program. 

Jacob T. Levy  is secretary-treasurer of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy, and Early Modern and Enlightenment Editor for the Sage Encyclopedia of Political Theory.

Last Updated: July 6, 2017