Calls to Action: Winners of the 2015 International Student/Teacher Essay Contest, "Goals for a Better World"

February 23, 2016

Photo by Massimo Valiani. (CC)

Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs is delighted to announce the winners of its 2015 International Student/Teacher Essay Competition.

ESSAY TOPIC: Focusing on one of the following Sustainable Development Goals, propose specific measures for your country (or region or city) to reach the goal's objectives in the next 15 years.

  • Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls; OR  
  • Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts; OR
  • Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable

The winners came from Brazil, India, Nigeria, South Korea, and the United States.     

And the winners are:


First Prize
Better Transportation for a Better City

Jack Conway, age 16, Associação Escola Graduada de São Paulo, Brazil

Second Prize
The Fight Against Climate Change
Dheera Vuppala, age 15, Nashua High School South, New Hampshire, USA

Third Prize
Defining the Undefinable: Gender in Developed Nations
Se Bin Ahn, age 18, Korean Minjok Leadership Academy, South Korea


First Prize
Goals for a Better World: Taking Urgent Action to Combat Climate Change in the United States within the Next 15 Years
Annabelle Dunbar, age 22, University of Central Florida, USA

Second Prize
The Making of Sustainable India
Sanyam Khare, age 20, ILS Law College, Pune, India

Third Prize
Measures for Nigeria to Reach the Objective "Make Cities and Human Settlements Inclusive, Safe, Resilient, and Sustainable" in the Next 15 Years
Agbeyo Temitope, age 20, Obafemi Awolowo University, Osun state, Nigeria

There were no winners in the Graduate/Teacher category this time.

We would like to thank everyone who submitted an essay. We enjoyed reading them! 

In total we received 192 essays from 37 countries.

Here is the country list in alphabetical order:

Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Egypt, Ethiopia, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kenya, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.